Taylor Reid

Nationality: Canadian
Hometown: Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Born: 1991
Height: 5'7"
Weight: 139 lbs
Discipline: Pro Ironman and ITU Triathlete

Website: http://www.taylor-reid.com/

Social Media:     

Career Highlights

1st        2015 Ironman 70.3 Silverman
1st        2015 Challenge St. Andrews
1st        2013 U23 Canadian National Champs
2nd      2015 Ironman 70.3 Mont-Tremblant
2nd      2010 Junior Canadian National Champs
3rd       2015 Ironman 70.3 Austin
5th       2015 Ironman 70.3 Miami
6th       2015 Ironman 70.3 Oceanside
6th       2015 Ironman 70.3 Timberman
2013 OUA silver medal team - McMaster University

 

  • What are your favorite hobbies?

My favorite hobbies outside of Triathlon are cooking and baking!  I just love working in the kitchen, and just have a soft spot for the arts.  I also do a little painting as well, and like to bring an artistic flare into the kitchen.

  • How did you get your start in triathlon?

I started my sporting life as a mountain biker and picked up running later on. I tried a few duathlons and it was only a short jump to becoming a Triathlete. Barrie Shepley, my coach at the time, had a lot of influence on me when I chose to become a triathlete. I just really liked the challenge and the idea that I could make it to the highest level of in the sport.

  • What is your favorite discipline of the three?

I would say running. I just feel free when I'm out there.

  • What is your favorite race of the year?

In 2015, my favorite race was Ironman 70.3 Mont-Tremblant. The amount of energy at that race was amazing and they could not have had a better course!

  • What has been the best moment of your career so far?

That's a hard question to answer; there have been so many great moments. But if I had to pick one it would be winning Challenge St. Andrews. Then being able to go back and cross the finish line with both my father and mother who had done the race with me.

  • What will be your first race in 2016, and what are your big goal races?

I am not sure what my first race for 2016 will be. I'm debating if I will start with Ironman 70.3 Pan American Pro Championship in Panama, or Ironman 70.3 Oceanside. My goal races for 2016 will be in North America. I will be targeting Ironman 70.3 North American Pro Championship in St. George and the ITU long Course World Championship in Oklahoma.

  • What was your first impression of Alto during your maiden ride on the new wheels? 

My first impression was wow these wheels are responsive. I stepped on the pedals and the bike just took off.  I also love the sound they make when you are barreling down the road!

  • Why does your equipment selection play an important role in training and racing? How does a stiffer a smoother riding wheel set help in triathlon?

Equipment is one of the very few variables we can control going into a race. Yes it is very important to train properly, eat properly, and rest properly. But sadly we cannot always control these things we have to go with the flow. When it comes to equipment we can control what we are using, and you want the best equipment to get you from start to finish as quickly and efficiently possible. Stiffer and smoother riding wheels are super important, and that's why I've chosen Alto! Unlike aerodynamics that you cannot really feel improving your riding speed, you can feel the improvements that Alto wheels provide. You can feel every pedal stroke propelling you forward, and you don't feel any lag coming out of a corner or standing up to climb. You're also able to stay in in the aerobars for much longer since you don't feel every bump on the road!   

  • What is your ultimate career goal?

To stand on the podium at a World Championship race!